United States History

Accessible Archives contains primary source material from 18th & 19th century publications. The databases contain comprehensive material found in leading historic periodicals and books including eyewitness accounts of historical events, descriptions of everyday life, editorial observations, advertisements, and genealogical records. Includes newspaper collections such as African American Newspapers, World War I American Military Camp Newspapers, Civil War Newspapers, Women's Suffrage Newspapers, Frank Leslie's Weekly, Godey's Lady's Book, Anti-Slavery Newspapers, South Carolina Newspapers, Virginia Gazette, Pennsylvania Gazette and county histories from across the country.

The only archive covering foreign perspectives of American racial issues in the mid-20th century. This is a unique collection of primary source documents on racial justice from around the world.

America's Historical Newspapers makes it easy for students to search and browse hundreds of U.S. newspapers published from 1690 through the 20th Century, including titles from all 50 present states. This coverage of topics, issues, events and people gives students a better understanding of not only the past, but also its lingering impact on present-day issues and events.

Ancestry has the world’s largest online family history resource, home to billions of historical records, millions of family trees and much more.
- ONLY AVAILABLE WHILE ON THE PEDDIE NETWORK

This database captures the greatest events in history and brings them to life with photographs, audio sound bites, graphics and text. AP Newsroom is a primary source database from the Associated Press, one of the oldest and largest news organizations in the world.

Britannica Original Sources gives you access the original sources and personal accounts of humankind’s social, political, legal, and religious development, as well as some of the greatest discoveries, insights, and literary achievements in the words of the actual authors, discoverers, and innovators. It is a reliable collection of fact-checking resources of history makers’ greatest accomplishments—from the dawn of civilization to the present.

Translated sources and analysis from around the world providing comprehensive coverage of the conflict that drove global politics from the end of World War II to the early 1990s.

Fold3 provides convenient access to US military records, including the stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served.

HeinOnline Scholastic is a fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. HeinOnline Scholastic includes more than 100 million pages of multidisciplinary content in more than 100 subject areas, including business, American history, European history, global politics, government, international studies, women’s studies, and many more. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of both U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents and more than 2,400 scholarly journals, all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law.

The New York Times - Historical provides page images of the newspaper beginning with the first issue in 1851 up until 4 years before present.
- 1980 - current can be found on ProQuest National Newspapers.

Full text to major national newspapers including Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, The Wall Street Journal and The Washington Post.

A digital archive of primary sources documenting key aspects of the history of slavery in the United States, from its origins in Africa to its abolition, including materials on the slave trade, plantation life, emancipation, pro-slavery and anti-slavery arguments, religious views on slavery, and other related topics.

A digital archive of primary sources documenting the war that transformed America, ending slavery and unifying the nation around the principles of freedom. The collection examines the war and all its complexity — its causes and consequences, its battles and campaigns, its political and religious aspects, the experiences of its leaders and common soldiers, the home front and the military campground, and more.

A digital archive of primary sources documenting the American revolution and war that created the United States of America, from the Paris peace treaty in 1763 through the early protests in 1785 to the Paris peace treaty of 1783. The collection examines the political, social, and intellectual upheaval of the age, as well as the actual war for American independence through its eight long years of conflict. A wealth of material from the European point of view is included.