Background information, primary sources, and perspectives essays exploring the three branches of government, rights and liberties, political behavior, domestic and foreign policy, and political and economic systems. Browse by type of content and topic.
Background information, primary sources, and perspectives essays exploring American history from 1350 to the present, organized chronologically and thematically, linking reference, curriculum, and analysis of current events. Browse by type of content, topic, and era.
Explores the geographic, historic, social, political, cultural, and economic landscape of the United States, as well as the complexities underlying the challenges facing the nation and individual states. Browse by state.
By providing the most comprehensive range of information in one complete resource—subject entries, biographies, primary sources, videos and slideshows, images, timelines, and maps and graphs—American History Online offers a virtual library of American history for educators, students, and researchers of all ages. American History Online now contains the complete content of the American Women's History Online and U.S. Government Online databases.
A complete overview of U.S. history that covers the most-studied events, issues, and current information. It includes viewpoint essays, primary documents, articles from reference books, newspaper and magazine articles, and journal content, as well as streaming video and audio.
Provides online, full-text access to over 100 subject dictionaries, foreign language dictionaries, and reference books published by Oxford University Press. See the title list of books included in this database.
The Oxford Research Encyclopedia of American History is part of the larger online Oxford Research Encyclopedia, a dynamic digital encyclopedia continuously updated by the world’s leading scholars and researchers
Very Short Introductions offer concise introductions to a diverse range of subject areas. It offers new books each year for students and scholars, and the avidly curious, offering a bridge between reference content and higher academic work. All titles provide introductions to a huge range of subjects, written by experts in the field who combine facts, analysis, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make challenging topics highly readable.