Supported by over 500 historical sources from across Europe, this resource examines key themes in the history of World War One. Explore a wealth of original source material, over 50 newly-commissioned articles written by historians, teachers' notes and more to discover how war affected people on different sides of the conflict.
EuroDocs is a collection of links to open access facsimiles, translations and transcriptions of primary source texts that document political, economic, social and cultural history across Europe from the first century AD to the present. Documents are organized by country and when possible, ordered chronologically. Links to ancient Greece and Rome can be found under Greece and Italy, respectively.
The First World War thematic collection gathers the untold stories and official histories of World War I, in a unique blend of cultural heritage collections and personal items contributed by European citizens.
A collection of primary documents that mark the course of the war. Included are archive documents signed in the late 1830s which bore relevance to the outbreak of war some 75 years later, as well as memos, letters, treaties and the text of speeches throughout the war and beyond.
Over 7,000 artifacts--including text, images, audio, and video--drawn from the personal collections of ten British poets of the War. Though the poets and their poetry are the central, organizing principle of the collection, the collection is far more than an archive of literary artifacts. From Oxford University.
Online companion site to the BBC / PBS television series. Drawing on unpublished diaries, memoirs and letters, The Great War tells the rich and complex story of World War I through the voices of nurses, journalists, aviators and the American troops who came to be known as “doughboys.”
Against the background of the great European war of the early twentieth century, Herbert Hoover’s idea of a scholarly institution collecting documentation on war, revolution, and peace was conceived and developed.
This UK museum is a repository for hundreds of thousands of physical artifacts relating to war, including uniforms, medals, weapons, airplanes, etc. Also they have many thousands of photos and paintings, as well as personal memorabilia, such as post cards, letters, diaries, etc.
This archive of primary documents from World War One has been assembled by volunteers of the World War I Military History List (WWI-L). International in focus, the archive intends to present in one location primary documents concerning the Great War.
Pamphlets collected by the Princeton University Library starting from the outbreak of World War I. There is limited access through the finding aids for digital images in this pamphlet collection published in Europe during and immediately after World War I. They cover a broad range of topics including the economy, the press, the military, arms, territorial disputes, and others. The collection also includes speeches, sermons, bulletins, calendars, and songbooks. Covers 1894-1918.