Sustainability

Open repository of digital research and educational materials related to New Jersey's environment. Also contains a searchable directory of NJ environmental organizations.

Guide to New Jersey environmental rules and regulations, from the New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection (NJDEP).

Interactive atlas for ecological resources, environmental education and sustainable communities developed by Rowan University. Offers a free online map viewer to connect NJ citizens, municipalities and advocacy groups with geospatial tools to support community planning and conservation efforts.

Resources from Sustainable Jersey to help local officials, municipal staff and green team volunteers implement local green initiatives. Hosts a data center, library of publications, case studies, green team resources, presentations and a database of funding sources.

Conducts research with real-world applications to New Jersey's climate-related challenges. Affiliated with Rutgers University.

Information on climate change in New Jersey and the state government's response.

Website designed to help NJ municipal and county governments plan for climate change and build resilience into local governance. Includes links to useful resources, tools, worksheets, and templates, and guidance to help communities address recent changes to the Municipal Land Use Law. Created by the Resilient NJ program within the NJ Dept. of Environmental Protection.

Agency within DEP responsible for managing air quality in the state. Responsibilities include ambient air monitoring, pollution sources inventories, emission reduction plans, rules, permits, air quality modeling and risk assessment, vehicle inspections and voluntary programs to modernize fleets and promote electric vehicles.

Division within NJ Dept. of Environmental Protection that provides water quality information to assess and manage the state's water resources.

Collects hydrologic data and publishes water science research to support statewide water-resource infrastructure and management needs. Use the Water Data Dashboard to view current water data for New Jersey, including streamflow, groundwater, and water quality conditions.

Program within the NJ Dept. of Environmental Protection responsible for reducing the threat of contamination to public health, safety and the environment through clean-up and remediation of contaminated properties.

Program within NJ Board of Public Utilities (NJBPU) focused on promoting clean and renewable energy in the state through solar installations, carbon emissions reduction and initiatives to help residents reduce energy usage and save money.

A state-wide interagency initiative led by the Rutgers University EcoComplex designed to assist Clean Energy Businesses in New Jersey by identifying funding and assistance programs applicable to their clean energy interests.

Information and news on the development of offshore wind energy in New Jersey, from the NJ Dept. of Environmental Protection.

Information from DEP about electric vehicles (EVs), and EV state programs and initiatives.

Energy profile of NJ with related facts and statistics, including consumption, production, and prices from the U.S. Dept. of Energy. View interactive maps of power plants and energy infrastructure in NJ.

Program established in 1984 by NJ Dept. of Agriculture to inform consumers which fruits and vegetables were grown in New Jersey. Contains a directory and database for finding Jersey Fresh produce.

Affiliated with Rutgers University, provides a diverse range of research, extension, and educational programs related to agriculture, horticulture, fisheries and aquaculture in New Jersey.

The Center for EcoTechnology (CET) is a nonprofit organization that helps people and businesses save energy and reduce waste. Offers program design and implementation services throughout the Northeast U.S. and beyond, and consulting services to provide information and advice nationally. Provides New Jersey-specific resources, reports, regulatory information and fact sheets on food waste management.

Campaign created by a partnership between the NJ Department of Agriculture, The Community Food Bank of New Jersey (CFBNJ), The Food Bank of South Jersey, Mercer Street Friends, and Norwescap to help residents and businesses prevent food waste. Contains a list of local food banks, links, videos and guides on topics such as food storage tips, composting, and food recovery.

Nonprofit industry group advancing composting manufacturing, compost utilization and organics recycling in New Jersey.

Information about black bears in New Jersey from the NJ Division of Fish & Wildlife, including safety tips, fact sheets, publications, and policies.

Resources from NJAES about the management of New Jersey's finfish and shellfish fisheries, including news, factsheets and bulletins.

The National Wildlife Refuge System is a program of the US Fish and Wildlife Service that administers a national network of lands and waters for the conservation, management and restoration of the Nation's fish, wildlife and plant resources and their habitats. Website hosts a map where you can search for refuges near you.

Website developed by the Barnegat Bay Partnership providing landscaping guidance for environmentally friendly, low-maintenance yards. Includes a plant database for New Jersey native plants and Jersey-friendly non-native plants.

A statewide non-profit organization dedicated to the appreciation, protection, and study of the native flora of New Jersey.

Part of the National Coastal Zone Management Program, responsible for addressing coastal issues in the state, including sustainable and resilient coastal community planning, climate change, ocean planning, and planning for energy facilities and development.

State agency responsible for preserving, protecting and enhancing the natural and cultural resources of the Pinelands National Reserve.