Accessible Archives contains primary source material from 18th & 19th century publications. The databases contain comprehensive material found in leading historic periodicals and books including eyewitness accounts of historical events, descriptions of everyday life, editorial observations, advertisements, and genealogical records. Includes newspaper collections such as African American Newspapers, World War I American Military Camp Newspapers, Civil War Newspapers, Women's Suffrage Newspapers, Frank Leslie's Weekly, Godey's Lady's Book, Anti-Slavery Newspapers, South Carolina Newspapers, Virginia Gazette, Pennsylvania Gazette and county histories from across the country.
America's Historical Newspapers makes it easy for students to search and browse hundreds of U.S. newspapers published from 1690 through the 20th Century, including titles from all 50 present states. This coverage of topics, issues, events and people gives students a better understanding of not only the past, but also its lingering impact on present-day issues and events.
Britannica Original Sources gives you access the original sources and personal accounts of humankind’s social, political, legal, and religious development, as well as some of the greatest discoveries, insights, and literary achievements in the words of the actual authors, discoverers, and innovators. It is a reliable collection of fact-checking resources of history makers’ greatest accomplishments—from the dawn of civilization to the present.
Digital Public Library of America [DPLA] Primary Source Sets are designed to help students develop critical thinking skills by exploring topics in history, literature, and culture through primary sources. Drawing online materials from libraries, archives, and museums across the United States, the sets use letters, photographs, posters, oral histories, video clips, sheet music, and more.
The Gilder Lehrman Collection is an archive of primary sources in American history. The Collection includes more than 70,000 letters, diaries, maps, pamphlets, printed books, newspapers, photographs, and ephemera that document the political, social, and economic history of the United States. [Students will need to register for a free account to fully use this site.]