Periodicals [journals, magazine, newpapers, etc.]

Accessible Archives contains primary source material from 18th & 19th century publications. The databases contain comprehensive material found in leading historic periodicals and books including eyewitness accounts of historical events, descriptions of everyday life, editorial observations, advertisements, and genealogical records. Includes newspaper collections such as African American Newspapers, World War I American Military Camp Newspapers, Civil War Newspapers, Women's Suffrage Newspapers, Frank Leslie's Weekly, Godey's Lady's Book, Anti-Slavery Newspapers, South Carolina Newspapers, Virginia Gazette, Pennsylvania Gazette and county histories from across the country.

America's Historical Newspapers makes it easy for students to search and browse hundreds of U.S. newspapers published from 1690 through the 20th Century, including titles from all 50 present states. This coverage of topics, issues, events and people gives students a better understanding of not only the past, but also its lingering impact on present-day issues and events.

Newspapers.com is the online home of 216 million+ pages of historical newspapers from 4,400+ newspapers in the United States and more.
- ONLY AVAILABLE WHILE ON THE PEDDIE NETWORK

Provides access to full text of articles from more than 2,500 newspapers from the U.S. and around the world, thousands of magazines, journals, and newsletters, as well as broadcast transcripts from major television and radio networks. Political transcripts are included as well as comprehensive U.S. and state cases, including U.S. Supreme Court cases from 1789.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Black Newspaper Collection presents 14 influential African American newspapers that documented the Black experience in America from 1893 to 2010. These publications provide firsthand accounts of pivotal moments in history through the lens of distinguished Black journalists and community leaders.

These newspapers provide researchers with unprecedented access to perspectives and information that was excluded or marginalized in mainstream sources. The content, including articles, obituaries, photos, editorials, and more, is easily accessible for scholars in the study of the history of race relations, journalism, local and national politics, education, African American studies, and many multidisciplinary subjects.

A unique look at history, through the eyes of the Communist Party USA. Workers’ rights, social issues, national and international politics, culture and Party activity are just some of the topics to be explored on the pages of these Communist Party newspapers, featuring such notable contributors as writer Richard Wright, folk singer Woody Guthrie and political cartoonist Robert Minor.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Global connects today’s headlines back to each title’s first issue including six regional and specialty collections spanning multiple continents. This academic resource offers over 200 premier newspapers from the U.S., Canada, and international regions, presented as originally printed. It provides researchers and students with exceptional access to primary sources, with events reported as they happened and continue to unfold.

From leading historical events including the U.S. Civil War, immigration, westward expansion, industrial developments, race relations, and World Wars I and II, to international, local and regional politics, society, arts, culture, business, and sports, ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Global reveals day-to-day news coverage to researchers and historical explorers, providing invaluable insights across a wide range of subjects.

Historical Newspapers: U.S. Collection explores America’s events and stories—past and present—through a collection of over 130 exclusive local newspaper titles across 36 states and growing. Titles span the first historical issue to the most recent, with the ability to experience each issue as it was originally printed, page by page, in crisp detail for an immersive research experience.

News happens everywhere. This collection delivers first-hand accounts of news where and when it happened on the ground, with state, local and community news that was not covered in national and international dailies. Additionally, unique local perspectives and interpretations of national and global events provide an alternate lens through which to study key events and social issues of the past and present.

With exclusive rights to in-copyright titles, growing breadth of coverage of 36 states and 130+ titles with coverage from 1785-Present, and an emphasis on complete title runs, no other historical local news resource can serve such varied multidisciplinary use cases.

Explore a digital archive of four influential Jewish American newspapers that enables researchers to investigate Jewish immigration, genealogy, and history. This collection documents Jewish immigration waves, cultural transformation, religious reform, and the rise of Zionism, alongside reactions to major events like the Holocaust and Israel's establishment.

The early 20th century witnessed a profound demographic shift as approximately two million Eastern European Jews sought refuge and opportunity in America, fleeing persecution and economic hardship. This migration fostered a dynamic cultural exchange—Jews contributed significantly to American society while American influences sparked innovations in Jewish religious practice and intellectual thought. ProQuest Historical Newspapers: U.S. Jewish Newspaper Collection serves as a vital resource for scholars studying these developments, offering unique insights into the emergence of Zionist movements and the complex evolution of U.S.-Israel relations throughout the 20th century.

Keeping readers informed of the latest news from the Chicago area, the nation and the world every day. The Tribune has a reputation for investigative and public service journalism, earning 24 Pulitzer Prizes since 1932.

The perspective of the American West, lauded for its coverage of immigration, entertainment, and environmental issues.

The paper of record in the U.S., best known for its analysis of news, issues and social changes.

The New York Times - Historical provides page images of the newspaper beginning with the first issue in 1851 up until 4 years before present.
- 1980 - current can be found on ProQuest National Newspapers.