Background information, primary sources, and perspectives essays presenting a worldwide perspective ranging far beyond Western Civilization to ancient Africa, the Islamic world, and the East. Browse by content type, topic, and era.
Europeana is a digital library which provides access to over 50 million digitized items - paintings, music, films and books from Europe's galleries, libraries, archives and museums like the Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam, the British Library in London and the Louvre in Paris.
Provides thorough coverage of world history from prehistory through the 1500s, with special Topic Centers on key civilizations and regions, including the ancient Near East, Egypt, Greece, and Rome; ancient and medieval Africa, Asia, and the Americas; and medieval Europe and the Islamic World. Each civilization's history is brought to life through tablet/mobile-friendly videos and slideshows, primary sources, maps and graphs, timelines, suggested readings, and suggested search terms.
Provides online, full-text access to over 100 subject dictionaries, foreign language dictionaries, and reference books published by Oxford University Press. See the title list of books included in this database.
Salem Press provides e-books through databases of electronic reference books (e-books) that can be crossed searched. Salem Press history titles include a wide range of topics spanning American history and the world. Learn about important moments and figures in our history.
Very Short Introductions offer concise introductions to a diverse range of subject areas. It offers new books each year for students and scholars, and the avidly curious, offering a bridge between reference content and higher academic work. All titles provide introductions to a huge range of subjects, written by experts in the field who combine facts, analysis, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make challenging topics highly readable.