English

Harold Bloom’s essays examining the lives and works of great writers throughout history and the world and of critical articles by noted scholars from the Bloom’s Literary Criticism imprint.

Britannica Academic provides up-to-date and easy access to high-quality, comprehensive information and is a gateway for further research for colleges, academic libraries and high schools.

Literary Reference Center is a full-text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing. Literary Reference Center contains full text for more than 35,000 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, nearly 100,000 articles/essays of literary criticisms, more than 253,000 author biographies (including more than 22,000 in-depth bios), more than 460 literary journals, more than 693,000 book reviews, nearly 78,000 classic and contemporary poems, more than 19,600 classic and contemporary short stories, more than 6,500 author interviews, more than 8,200 classic texts and much more.

Oxford Handbooks Online is an outstanding collection of the best Handbooks areas across many different subject areas. Each Handbook offers a critical survey of the current state of scholarship in a particular field of study, creating an original conception of the field and setting the agenda for new research. Individual articles, signed by top scholars in their field, review the key issues and major debates, and provide an original argument for how those debates might evolve. In the culture of information overload these research reviews are more widely used than ever before.

Provides online, full-text access to over 100 subject dictionaries, foreign language dictionaries, and reference books published by Oxford University Press. See the title list of books included in this database.

The Oxford Research Encyclopedias (OREs) offer long-form overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars. The OREs cover both foundational and cutting-edge topics in order to develop, over time, an anchoring knowledge base for major areas of research across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Current topics covered: American History, Climate Science, Communication, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Politics, Religion, African History, Asian History, Business and Management, Education, Natural Hazard Science, Neuroscience, Psychology, Anthropology, Economics and Finance, Global Public Health, Physics, Planetary Science

Very Short Introductions offer concise introductions to a diverse range of subject areas. It offers new books each year for students and scholars, and the avidly curious, offering a bridge between reference content and higher academic work. All titles provide introductions to a huge range of subjects, written by experts in the field who combine facts, analysis, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make challenging topics highly readable.