ACLS Humanities E-Book (HEB) is a digital collection of over 5,500 seminal books in the humanities and related social sciences. Fields currently covered include the following: World and U.S. History, Biblical Studies, Bibliographic Studies, Comparative/World, Economic History, Environmental Studies, Film and Media Studies, Folklore, Hip Hop Studies, Islamic Studies, Jewish Studies, Law, LGBT/Queer Studies, Linguistics, Literature, Literary Criticism, Medicine, Methods/Theory, Musicology, Native Peoples of the Americas, Performance Studies (theater, music, dance), Philosophy, Political Science, Religion, Science/Technology, Sociology and Women’s Studies.
Founded in 2008, HathiTrust is a not-for-profit collaborative of academic and research libraries preserving 17+ million digitized items. HathiTrust offers reading access to the fullest extent allowable by U.S. copyright law, computational access to the entire corpus for scholarly research, and other emerging services based on the combined collection. HathiTrust members steward the collection — the largest set of digitized books managed by academic and research libraries — under the aims of scholarly, not corporate, interests.
JSTOR offers interdisciplinary content to support scholarship and teaching. It includes over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. Journals are always included from volume 1, issue 1 and include previous and unrelated titles. Typically, coverage ends 3-5 years before the present date, a "moving wall" system that protects publishers from last revenue for recent articles.
The Loeb Classical Library is the only existing series of books which, through original text and English translation, gives access to all that is important in Greek and Latin literature. Epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; those Church fathers who made particular use of pagan culture—in short, our entire classical heritage is represented here in convenient and well-printed pocket volumes in which an up-to-date text and accurate and literate English translation face each other page by page. The editors provide substantive introductions as well as essential critical and explanatory notes and selective bibliographies.
ProQuest's Academic Complete database on the eBook Central platform is a collection of more than 150,000 scholarly ebooks from leading publishers, including university presses. All titles in Academic Complete are available to Peddie users for online reading. Most titles can be downloaded in full or by chapter; print options vary due to publishers' licensing restrictions.
Salem Press provides e-books through databases of electronic reference books (e-books) that can be crossed searched. Salem Press history titles include a wide range of topics spanning American history and the world. Learn about important moments and figures in our history.
Very Short Introductions offer concise introductions to a diverse range of subject areas. It offers new books each year for students and scholars, and the avidly curious, offering a bridge between reference content and higher academic work. All titles provide introductions to a huge range of subjects, written by experts in the field who combine facts, analysis, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make challenging topics highly readable.